Global Village

Kassandra and I finally made it to Global Village in October. I say finally because I had wanted to go last year, but I never made it before it closed. Life was a lot more hectic at this time last year. My students talk about this place all of the time. They love going to Global Village and they had gotten me really excited to see it.

2013-10-12 15.51.47   2013-10-12 15.52.09

How to explain Global Village? Basically it is a place that is open for about 5 months of the year in Dubai. They have about 35 different pavilions set up. Each pavilion represents a different country. Within each pavilion you can purchase goods and food from that country. As the motto states: Global Village – Where the world comes together.

2013-10-12 16.18.28   2013-10-12 16.18.19 2013-10-12 17.05.37   2013-10-12 17.12.24

I feel like sometimes when I write about things, I must sound like a negative-Nancy. Rather I like to think of myself as a realist.  Well, here is my realism – I didn’t like Global Village. I went with high expectations, and it was a disappointment. I recognize that we may have just gone at a bad time. We got to Global Village the second weekend it was open, and we arrived right at opening time of 4:00. This meant that many of the pavilions and/or booths within the pavilions were not open.

2013-10-12 17.26.08      2013-10-12 16.03.26

2013-10-12 17.02.30

It was hot! We spent the first hour walking around looking for open places to buy water. Then we decided to go on the rides while waiting for more pavilions to open. We bought tickets for the rides, but most of the rides were not running. So, we ended up using all of our tickets to go on one ride, one time.

But honestly this was the best part of our trip to Global Village. As we were sitting on the ride waiting for it to start, Kassandra turned to me and said with excitement, “I am smiling on the outside and the inside!” Any mom knows you can’t ask for anything better than that. The ride was fun! But I shouldn’t have moved my head at the wrong time during the ride. It was one of those moments that you can feel the pain shoot from your jaw and down your spine. Three weeks later and my neck is still a little stiff.

2013-10-12 17.33.07After the ride, we walked around the pavilions a bit more but didn’t really see anything that really grabbed our attention. I was disappointed that there wasn’t a U.S. pavilion. I was hoping to see if I could get something that I had forgotten to bring back with me. I was secretly pleased that the UK pavilion was lame. The Brits are already favored around here, no need to have a big fancy pavilion. Especially since the U.S. didn’t even get one. There was plenty of food, but since this wasn’t a planned trip (we stopped spur of the moment of the way back from Dubai), we had already eaten. After about a total of two hours, we decided that was enough Global Village excitement and continued on our way home.

This entry was posted in Dubai, Entertainment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Global Village

  1. Johnny Spiva says:

    Tori, I enjoy your blogs. The one about being an indoor/outdoor girl reminds me of living in Nevada and then moving back to the NW. I hated the rain. But after living there a couple years, when it would rain, I would go outside and walk in it. I missed it! So what I am saying is I understand. It’s something that makes you realize what is around us and appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

