Other Well-known Roundabouts (part 3)

As I have mentioned in previous posts, roundabouts are a part of life in Al Ain. Even people from Dubai and Abu Dhabi don’t fully understand Al Ain’s passion for them. Maybe it in part what keeps Al Ain quaint. The well-known roundabouts are the lifeline to finding anything in Al Ain.

First up is the Rock Waterfall Roundabout aka Christine’s roundabout (closest roundabout to my friend’s house). I think the official name is just the Waterfall Roundabout, but I have added the ‘rock’ in front of it so it isn’t confused with the other waterfall roundabout. This roundabout is crazy busy as it is on School Street, and it was a challenge to get photos of… well actually all of the roundabouts are hard to take pictures of since I value my life, but this one proved especially tricky, and I attempted to tackle it several times before I was able to accomplish my mission. It really is a very beautiful roundabout. It has four distinct sides. I can’t help but drive by it and want to climb up those stairs. Why? Just because.

2013-03-23 09.19.26

2013-03-23 09.17.04

Another well-known roundabout is the Falcon Roundabout (unofficial name). Although it isn’t right on the main road, you pass it as you head towards Bawadi Mall (aka the far away mall) which is the biggest mall in Al Ain.

2013-06-06 09.16.00

The Zoo Roundabout (official name and honestly the best name possible since it is near the zoo) is adorable. I love the little animals. It is difficult to get them all in the same picture, but this gives you an idea.

2013-06-06 08.55.29

2013-06-06 08.55.42

Another note worthy roundabout is Al Qala Roundabout. That is the official name. I have never heard anyone use that name. People are probably more likely to call it the ‘Roundabout before La Brioche’. I call it the Flat Waterfall Roundabout (not to be confused with the Rock Waterfall Roundabout). This is the roundabout your are likely to use if you are going to La Brioche, Jimi Mall, Al Ain Hospital, Safeer shopping center, or Jose’s house, so a very important roundabout indeed.

2013-06-21 10.46.16

The next roundabout installment will be about the more obscure, but nonetheless just as interesting, roundabouts around town.

This entry was posted in Al Ain, Road Rules and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Other Well-known Roundabouts (part 3)

  1. Christine says:

    You got my roundabout! Well done! Sorry I wasn’t more helpful. Very important roundabout indeed 😉

Leave a Reply

