Al Ain Raceway.. Vroom… Vroom

This is going to be a fast post. A while back I went to the Al Ain Raceway with a group of people I know from work. I was excited to try it. The need for speed is kind of in my blood (see earlier posts about my several speeding tickets).

Alain-Raceway

The track is 1.6 km (~1 mile), and to be honest, it was more intense than I expected. Or maybe I just didn’t know what to expect since I had never driven a go-kart before.  I did two sessions, and each session lasts for about 15 minutes.

The people I was with were quite competitive. They had no qualms about passing me at great speeds. Well at least it felt like great speeds, and I suppose when you are sitting that close to the ground, 50 km/hr  (~30 mph) is pretty fast.  Each time I spun out or didn’t take a corner as fast as I could have, I heard Johnny Spiva’s voice in my head. He is the one that taught me how to drive, and considering his fixation on racing cars, it was hard not to feel like my performance would have disappointed him.

DSCF1620    DSCF1630

At the end, you are given a print out of your performance.  I came in 6th place out of 8 people. Even the 13 year old son of one of my coworkers beat me (although in all fairness, this is a regular hobby for him).  It wasn’t that I did horribly, but I certainly didn’t do as well as I thought I would do. Honestly, I just kept thinking, if I flip the go-kart (can they flip?) going around the corner and get injured, who is going to take care of Kassandra?

DSCF1632This isn’t to say that I didn’t enjoy myself. I think I did once I started to get used to it, but I am not sure if I want to do it again.  My hands ached all night from gripping the steering wheel so tightly, and somehow I ended up with a baseball sized bruise on my back.  But in the end, at least I can say that I am willing to try new things while I am living abroad!

This entry was posted in Al Ain, Entertainment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Al Ain Raceway.. Vroom… Vroom

  1. Daniel says:

    Really!! Do you have to make sound like has no one else ;)>

    • Tori says:

      I assume you mean that I make it sound like Kass has no one else…. I just meant here. It was one thing if I injured myself back at home because I know she has you and my family to take care of her (and me) but here… It would be harder.

Leave a Reply

