Happy birthday to… me!

Some might call it silly, others may think I am being overly dramatic, and the rest probably think it is all in my head (or brought on by myself), but I truly believe that for whatever reason, I always have bad luck on my birthday (or during my birthday week). Bad birthday mojo.

It all started 30 years ago. The year I turned 5. Although I suppose it is quite possible that it started even sooner, and I just don’t remember. I will have to ask my mom about that one. In any case, that birthday was spent in the hospital after suffering a brain injury that would forever shape my life in ways that nobody could have ever foreseen at the time. Of course a more optimistic person may jump in and say, “Hey, you didn’t die!” as a feeble attempt to prove to me that the bad luck is all in my head.

Don’t worry, I am not going to recount every horrible birthday experience for the past 30 years. I only mention my bad luck birthday belief as background knowledge. I went into the first week of February expecting and accepting that something bad would happen.

Then something strange happened… I had a great birthday. Yes, there were some minor hiccups on the day of my birthday like being ridiculously overcharged for a hair cut and dye (I brought that one on myself. I never should have tempted fate like that), the girlfriend of one of my closest friends in Al Ain arrived (a painful reminder of my unrequited love), and a crappy birthday dinner at a new and slightly overpriced restaurant. Minor issues – nothing that I couldn’t handle!

For my birthday weekend, I celebrated in Abu Dhabi with Kassandra and some friends. No bad luck to be found. In fact, it was a wonderful weekend (especially compared to the last time I had been in Abu Dhabi on National Day).  The first night was a chill night at the Captain’s Arms.  Then the next day Kassandra and I went to the spa. She got a facial and I got a massage and facial. It was great – nothing like my last unfortunate massage experience. We did some shopping at the Al Wahda mall near our hotel as we decided it would be best to stay away from Marina mall and Abu Dhabi mall for a bit longer.

Later that night, I joined back up with my friends at the Jazz Bar.

2013-03-07 11.34.19 2013-02-08 21.09.00

20130208_211750It was at the Jazz bar that I enjoyed the best meal that I have had since being in the UAE. Since Kassandra isn’t fond of seafood, I haven’t had much of it lately. But, as you can see, this plate had a bountiful of shrimp, scallops, salmon, and hammour (I think that is what it is called). Christine made a comment later about how she saw this huge plate of seafood in front of me and how it seemed like five seconds later I was practically licking an empty plate. Delicious.

2013-02-08 22.13.59The band was great and played good music. Gina even arranged to have them sing me happy birthday as they brought out the dessert with sparklers (does that embarrassment count as bad luck?).

Amazingly, I even got to reconnect with the man I had met in line during the Marina Mall fiasco. He and Gina’s boyfriend showed us a couple of more nightlife places around Abu Dhabi. Good food, good music, good friends.

The next morning when we left, I forgot my passports in the hotel room safe. But even that I am not considering bad luck since it was easy to resolve. Gina was still in Abu Dhabi and they let her pick them up. So, the question that begs to be asked is; has the bad birthday mojo streak come to an end, or is it on temporary hiatus while I am overseas?

This entry was posted in Abu Dhabi, Celebrations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy birthday to… me!

  1. Christine says:

    Bad luck over! 🙂 That was a great weekend and an awesome dinner! Thanks for letting us be a part of it!

  2. arleebug54 says:

    You’ve conquered the bad b-day mojo, and the future is clear. Glad you had a wonderful weekend – you deserve it.

  3. Pingback: Another Year Older | Tori's Adventure

Leave a Reply

