What’s the weather like today?

People love to talk about the weather. All of you Portlanders, how many different words can you think of to describe rain/raining?  Drizzle, downpour, raining cats and dogs, sprinkling, pouring, freezing rain, hail, puddles, raindrops, rainfall… the list goes on. In the almost three months that I have been here, that vernacular has been useless.

Instead I have learned varying degrees of hot. In my effort to learn Celsius, I have been practicing. 32C (90F) is hot. 38C (101F) is very hot. 45C (113F) is flipping hot. Over 45C and you don’t really need to even bother converting because it is just F*ING hot!

I personally have enjoyed the weather, and I haven’t been that bothered by the heat. Everywhere is air conditioned. The only time you really feel the heat is the short walk between buildings or from your car to your apartment. I am sure the severe vitamin D deficiency I was being treated for in Portland has been cured. I do however have to be constant with the sunscreen. I don’t think I am any tanner than when I first got here. Lately the temperature has been in the mid 80s during the day and in the 60s at night. Perfect!

Typically my conversation about weather/temperature with my students pertain to one of the following:

1. the air conditioner is overcooling or not cooling enough – “Miss (said more like Miiiiiiiissssssssss) too cold”

2. practicing how to ask about weather – “What is the weather like today?” then comes the standard answer of “It’s sunny and hot.” No variation to this answer is ever needed.

CafeteriaAll of that being said, today was the first time weather has been a huge topic of conversation among my students. They just kept gazing out the window and remarking about how nice it is today. When I went to the cafeteria to grab lunch, I felt like it was not nearly as crowded as it typically is for noon.

Then I realized it was because many students were taking advantage of the weather and sitting outside. This is the first time in three months that I have seen students sitting outdoors. Not only were they enjoying the cooler weather, many of them were taking pictures of the sky. When I asked them about it, they told me that the clouds were very beautiful.

Image

I still can’t say that I miss the Oregon/Washington weather, but it does give me a new appreciation for the clouds. I am dying to see it rain here. If a few clouds and a light breeze are enough to get theses women taking pictures, I can’t wait to see what happens when it drizzles.

This entry was posted in Al Ain, Arab Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s the weather like today?

  1. Rebekah says:

    So interesting, Tori! I just gave oral exams to my students where I asked about Portland’s weather, and it never occurred to me until reading this post that some of them may think it’s weird that the weather is a big topic of conversation here! LOVE your blog, keep up the writing and sharing, it really is fascinating! –Rebekah

  2. Satya says:

    Very good narration of your observation. Please find link to some interesting pictures of what really happens when it rains occassionally in the UAE.

    http://gulfnews.com/news/gulf/uae/environment/agony-continues-as-relentless-rain-floods-the-roads-1.77911

Leave a Reply

